American Political Science Association Letter

The American Political Science Association, the largest political science organization in the profession, has written a letter supporting the political science program at Marian. The letter is addressed to Marian University’s president, Daniel Elsener, and provost, Dr. Alan Silva. It is also copied to the chair of the Marian Board of Trustees, Denise Feser, and the presiding officer of the Marian Faculty Assembly, Dr. Jeff Kellogg. Click on the link below to download a copy of the letter.

November 9, 2021

Dear President Elsener and Dr. Silva,

I write to you today on behalf of the American Political Science Association in support of the political science program at Marian University. I understand the challenging financial situations facing institutions of higher education today and the need of many universities to rethink their current academic programs to ensure responsiveness to changing funding and demographic trends. I urge you to preserve the political science program at Marian University.

Marian University is committed to helping students become “career ready.” Political science students hone the writing, communication, analytical, and data skills that are fundamental to the liberal arts and a wide spectrum of careers. Political science in particular provides insight into critical issues facing the public and private sector today, including globalization, terrorism, civil rights, international development, and the environment. Discontinuing the political science major would deny students the opportunity to gain a critical understanding of their rights and responsibilities as citizens, and to interrogate, challenge, and improve the structures that shape the world around them.

A robust and vibrant political science department and major is a great asset for the university and positions the university to be more responsive to its students and regional, state, and global constituencies. I encourage you to work in partnership with faculty to maintain the program as an essential part of the university’s liberal arts tradition. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Steven Rathgeb Smith

Executive Director

American Political Science Association


Denise Feser, Chair of the Board of Trustees

Dr. Jeff Kellogg, Presiding Officer of the Faculty Assembly, jkellogg@marian.ed